Concerning Hobbits: Briefly Backstage at Milan Fashion Week

TL;DR: I need to work out harder and invest in some stilts. Or take some Alice in Wonderland EAT ME cake. This is for my mom and anyone that’s curious to see all of the potato phone photos I took while backstage at the Andrea Incontri Milan Fashion Week show. My cousin is a designer for the line and yes, I shamelessly accepted this mild form of nepotism and got to be a dresser for the models backstage. Full disclaimer: I chatted more than I dressed and my job was not stressful, whereas everyone else worked so incredibly hard to make the show a success. Kudos and cheers to everyone else – I did nothing special but stand around and tell every model that I thought that they were pretty (except for the one that was impatient and haughty because she’s not pretty on the inside).  

I went up to the first model I saw and, reverting back to a California Valley Girl accent (as I do out of nervousness), said to her: “You’re like, really pretty… and tall. And like, perfect. Perfectly pretty. That’s all.” She laughed at me and thanked me for the compliments.

 

   

Image

Stunning pieces – part of the synchronized swimming theme drawn into the collection. The prints and stitching were magnificent to look at.

 

 

Image

The full line – some of the models had multiple changes.

 

 

Image

The designer explaining each piece. He was being interviewed before the models showed up.

 

 

Image

Full instructions on how to dress the models. This piece had a lovely full swim piece underneath, a chiffon skirt, and a chiffon dress that buttoned halfway up the back.

 

 

Image

Yikes my shoes look trashy compared to these swank ones.

 

 

Image

Thanks for being nice and not pushing me away when I asked for a picture, Ygritte Nina.

 

 

Image

How magnificent. I believe that the artist was using Shiseido The Makeup Stick foundation and is currently setting with the Chanel Poudre Universelle Compacte. Makeup geek here.

 

 

Image

I see models everywhere.

 

 

Image

Yes, my arms were straight out. Yes, my arms fit right at their waist level. Yes, I’m a Hobbit next to Gandalfs.

 

 

Image

God, I loved the sewing on the sides of these pieces. Just stunning. I feel like a hobo in my normally sewn clothes, dude.

 

 

Image

A lot of the models looked like they were born bored. Also born with cheekbones that would cut you if you touched them.

 

 

Image

I don’t know why but the gal on the right reminds me of Star Wars or robots.

 

 

Image

Beautiful pieces everywhere.

 

 

Image

I need stilts. I’m surprised that I got their heads in the shot, actually. Smug and snug as a bug in a rug.

 

 

Image

Star Wars? I can’t quite put a pin on it.

 

 

Image

Dat two piece.

 

 

Image

Swank.

 

 

Image

Yes, they all look like wax people. They are definitely super tall, super unafraid of heels, and have all nailed down smizing. Ty-Ty would be proud.

 

 

Image

Blurry but yes, I was gazing up in wonder. How embarrassing.

 

 

Image

For reference, I’m 5′ 3″, so I’m used to being a Hobbit anyway. I was still floored today though.

 

 

Image

Each model underwent a final touchup before heading out onto the runway. The designer watches his show and he would personally fix each model to his liking.

 

 

Image

The gorgeous and charming Whitney Jensen, a gal all the way from Utah. I approached her from across the room because my little Hobbit ears could detect an American accent. Super friendly, awesomely fun, and even more stunning in person.

 

 

If anyone wants another gander at the entire collection, take a look. This was amazing, a thousand thank yous to my cousin for hooking me up. Counting my blessings and here’s to being a Hobbit exploring the world.

Samwise Gamgee: It’s all wrong. By rights we shouldn’t even be here. But we are. It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jen Moore says:

    Looks like your having fun! 🙂 and I agree about the Star Wars girl. I can’t place it either. Maybe like a Princess Leia look?

Leave a comment