Barcelona: Hello, Old Friends

Barcelona and its enthusiasts (I hesitate to use the word residents because they do more than just live there) can be summed up in one word: pride. The city is located in the region of Catalunya, which is considered an official nation, although other residents of Spain may assume otherwise. Let’s just say that as we walked the streets of Barcelona, I think that I only saw the Spanish flag blowing in the wind in front of official government buildings, merely because they had to. Otherwise, the flags flew freely. It was like Independence Day for Americans, except minus the stars, hot dogs, fireworks, and our vehement, eloquently drunken assertions of MUUUUUURIKA MUUUUUUUURIKAAAA!! So… it was just flags being proudly displayed. One can’t help but walk around and feel like you’ve come at the right time of year because there must be a festival celebrating Catalan independence or something. Nope, Chuck Testa. This pride is exactly how they normally view themselves, their city, and their home. And, not to be outdone by Italians, the Latin men here are even more persistent. As a travel buddy noted, they travel in packs and where packs are, pride follows. Be careful lady travelers – just be smart in where you go and how you react or resist unwanted attention.

Image

In el Barri Gotic, the Gothic Quarter.

DAY ONE: MAY GAUDI GO WITH YOU

Barcelona is both the product that shaped and was shaped by artistic legends Gaudi and Picasso. The city is proud of its abundantly influential roots and its flavorful branches. We stayed in an apartment in a small alleyway off of La Ramblas, the main tourist shopping strolling lane. I preferred it when I first set eyes on it – which was the dead of night, with lonesome lamps reflecting off of the street, making it look like an ice-skating rink if I squinted my eyes enough. After the long day we had (several midterms, packing, and making our way to Spain), I think that I was squinting my eyes anyway.

 

Image

Without photographic proof, I would still be thinking that this image was a mirage after our long day.

In the morning, we set off through the Gotic and went to go meet Gaudi. La Ramblas will take you for perhaps seven or eight blocks or so from the Columbus monument by the marina to Plaza Catalunya, a main square. More on the Columbus monument and what joy you feel when you see the ocean again later on in the post.

 

Image

Carrer Ferran, a main street that will take you from La Ramblas and (very close) to the Museu Picasso.

 

 

Image

ART i SA, a great bakery/cafe located off of a plaza near La Ramblas. Very rad place – had great tea but awful seating. Good for on-the-go or early risers. As always, tourists tend to wake up and hit the streets around 10:30AM.

 

 

Image

Would it really be a trip without Hillary entering into a bookstore? It’s kind of hard for me not to – I feel like I miss books just as I miss friends.

 

 

Image

“I lay on the bed and lost myself in the stories. I liked that. Books were safer than other people anyway.”

-The Ocean At The End Of The Lane, Neil Gaiman

 

 

Image

Civilization poking through “civilization”.

 

 

Image

So the legends are true… they said that these coffee establishments are well-known but I’ve been living in the cave that is Italy… What is this Starb-Ucks?

 

 

Image

At Plaza Catalunya, there is a monument to Francesc Macia, one of the most important leaders in the struggle to establish Catalan as an independent state.

 

 

Image

I’ve noticed that in most main squares, real estate is dominated by banks or at least companies that have as much money as banks (here’s lookin’ at you, Apple).

 

 

Image

The sun… she blinds my now-accustomed Milanese eyes. We don’t see sun ’round these here parts.

After departing our brief stroll, we headed the La Sagrada Familia, Gaudi’s largest feat. La Sagrada was a church that Gaudi ended up poring his life into; the poor man spent forty years of his life on the project and his life was completed before his most impressive work was. Although eccentric Gaudi died ninety years ago, work has been underway since. Rick Steves is optimistic about its completion date, as are the constructionists, who project that they may finish it in fifteen years. Talk about devotion and completionism.

 

Image

Sagrada Familia. It’s many faces feel like it is not a church but, rather, a melting ice cream cone or a massive ant hill.

 

 

Image

This face is known as the Nativity Facade. Postcards are proud to display the construction cranes – I have a feeling that it is part of the flavor of Sagrada. In a way, it won’t feel like Sagrada when they take down all of the scaffolding because this is the only image that the church or Catalans have ever known.

 

 

Image

Simply one of the most interestingly random pieces of architecture I’ve had the pleasure to look upon. My type of building, yo. It’s so randomly eloquent that it’s like looking at a five-year-old’s drawings after they’ve had a bit of candy.

 

 

Image

The suspense is killing me… what fruit spire will they construct next? Tune in to the news, in three years.

 

 

Image

The Passion Facade, the other side of Sagrada, complete with statues.

 

 

Image

MURIKA CATALUNYA

 

 

Image

Oh how you mock me, giant cloth billboard. OH HOW YOU MOCK ME

 

 

Image

A kaleidoscope of tile on the sidewalks.

 

 

Image

Another contribution to the city: La Pedrera, constructed in the early 1900’s and currently used as a cultural center for Barcelona.

 

 

Image

The sunlight felt so good. Hello sunlight, my old friend…

 

 

Image

Stumbled upon this school, located behind an inside open-market.

 

 

We then headed to Park Guell, a park most famous for its stunner views and quintessential mosaic artwork. Gaudi’s Haus is located here too, although the lines are ridiculously ridiculous. A word of advice for future visitors: when you get off of the metro stop Lesseps, follow the signs for Park Guell and you’ll find a huuuge hill of what appears to be stairs. Ne’er fear, young padawans. They are not stairs. They be escalators for the lazy Americans.

 

Image

Outside escalators up a hill… it’s like Wall-E is coming to fruition already.

 

 

Image

San Franciscans would have a field day if they saw this type of shit. I bet that one too many tourists complained about having to get their exercise on vacation so they built escalators.

 

 

Image

Refugees welcome, tourists go home, patriots fuck off. Sums up some Catalan sentiment on tourists and Spanish patriots.

 

 

Image

I have an urge to see these tourists just topple off or something. Crowded crowded crowded and not peaceful at all. Not my type of scene.

 

 

Image

Sagrada, civilization among a civilized city.

 

 

Image

We look for the hell of freedom.

 

 

Image

I just love this photo so much.

 

 

Image

Hi ma, hi pa.

 

 

Image

For my Facebook and Instagram-less parents.

 

 

Image

Guell, Guell, Guell.

 

 

Image

Reminds me of the paper mosaics we used to make in elementary school.

 

 

Image

Even the entrance is Gaudi-esque.

 

 

Image

Witching hour.

 

 

Image

That kid totally looks like he is floated like a wizard

 

 

Image

The sun drops quite quickly this time of year.

 

 

Image

Unintentional, I swear. I’m raising a disapproving Stangel eyebrow at Eden, who’s off camera.

 

 

Image

Shameless selfie. NO SHAME

 

 

Image

A rare moment when the lizard is at peace.

 

 

Image

Exit through the gift shop.

 

 

Image

The fast supermarket! For the supermarket that just sells candy and drinks!

 

ON THE TOPIC OF TAPAS

This is the food portion of the post. I have missed going out to eat (as I like to do at cheaper places with my boyfriend). But TREAT YOSELF. Don’t look at the photos if you’re hungry. You’ll get hungrier. And you’re not you when you’re hungry.

 

Image

Swank swank.

 

 

Image

Oh, sangria. How you’ve been enjoyed on this trip. Not a huge drinker but sangria can be quite tasty.

 

 

Image

Steak tartar on bread. Melted. Absolutely melted.

 

 

Image

Patatas bravas, the signature dish in Barcelona. Spicy sauce over potatoes. Highly recommended.

 

 

Image

I told you not to read while hungry.

 

 

Image

Our tapas at night – went to Sensi Bistro in the Gotic. Cost a pretty penny but was spectacular.

 

 

Image

Sangria and grid-paper menus.

 

 

Image

Sensi’s version of patatas bravas. If you’ve been to La Vic’s in San Jose, California… the spicy sauce on these potatoes tasted like a thicker version of our local orange sauce.

 

 

Image

Shaky cheesecake photo because sangria.

 

 

Image

Toto, I’ve a feeling we’re not in the Costco food court anymore.

 

 

Image

Beware of ordering any type of “hot chocolate” in Europe. None of that watered down crap we get because apparently hot chocolate is hot chocolate pudding.

 

 

NOW STOP: GRAFFITI TIME!

Image

JOBS SMASH

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

Our good friends Dali and Gaudi.

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

Hey dad, Mingus took out investments in Barcelona. That’s why he slinks out of our yard every morning.

 

 

Image

I would love to come here while these cats busk.

 

 

Image

~thank you for the great time (Barcelona)~

 

 

Image

Stupid politicians. Around the corner from a church.

 

 

Image

An ad for the Halloween festivities.

 

 

DEAR GOD, THERE’S SUN AND SHE BURNS: PICASSO, THE MARKET AND OCEAN

On our second day, we ventured forth to the Picasso museum. I only have a few photos because you aren’t allowed to take photos in the actual museum rooms but if you’re thinking of visiting Barcelona, PLEASE go to the museum. It’s an absolute gem. I love his earlier pieces of landscapes – just breathtakingly cared after and each paintstroke holds diction and purpose.

Image

Gradients in the atrium to the museum.

 

 

Image

In the atrium leading downstairs and outside.

 

What a fun little snippet of the museum, huh? I wish that I could show you more but you’ll just need to go yourself. My favorites are the early landscapes but I like Science and Charity the most.

 

Image

Science and Charity over a lifeless body.

 

 

Image

Hilbo what are you doing with your hands stop it

 

On our last day, we eventually made our way over to the market and the marina just in time to head on out. I’ve missed the sunlight and ocean so much that it was a little bit embarrassing. Seeing the ocean was like embracing an old dear friend.

ImageThese closed open-air markets get me every time. Fish and fruit and flies galore.

 

 

Image

Yeah, I see you salivatin’.

 

 

Image

Glowing fish and fishmongers.

 

 

Image

I’m guessing salted cod? For you, Brian. We’ll get our salted cod, one way or another.

 

 

Image

Take notes, mom and dad. This is how we do it.

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

I spy with my little eye… chocolate frogs. Will they come with Albus Dumbledore?

 

 

Image

Barcelona marina.

 

 

Image

Marina pt 2.

 

 

Image

 

It proved to be a beautiful three days in Barcelona – I got headaches from seeing so much sun. I suppose that my body has experienced some sped-up evolution where not seeing the blinding sun for six weeks turns you into a vampire. I would stand in streams of light in between buildings or in plaza squares, feeling the warmth of heat and the heat of happiness send me over the moon.

Leave a comment